Bayelsa guber: Diri maintains lead with 5 LGAs, Sylva wins one

The incumbent governor of Bayelsa State and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Douye Diri, has maintained the lead after clinching five out of the six local government areas so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the last Saturday governorship election.

With the announcements of the results of three more local government areas after the break, the PDP won two LGAs while the All Progressives Congress (APC) won one.

The PDP won in Yenagoa, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Sagbama and Ekeremor LGAs while the APC won in Nembe LGA.

The PDP has so far garnered 137,909 votes, while the APC is trailing with 73,503 votes.

Meanwhile, the results for Brass and Southern Ijaw LGAs are still awaited as the State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof Kuta Farouk, adjourned the collation till noon on Monday