Electoral Amendment Bill: Lawan constitutes Conference Committee


Senate President, Dr Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan has constituted a Conference Committee for the 2021 Electoral Act Amendment Bill which was passed into law few weeks before the parliamentarians went on a two-month annual recess.

The upper and lower legislative chambers passed different versions of the bill that necessitated a harmonisation before transmitting the final copy to President Buhari for assent.

The Committee, which was set up on Wednesday, has the Senate leader, Senator Abdulahi Yahaya as Chairman.

Other members of the Committee are: Sen.Kabiru Gaya, Sen.Uche Ekwunife, Sen. Danjuma, Sen.Mathew Urhoghide, Sen.Surajudeen Basiru, and Sen.Sani Musa.

Each Senator represents different geopolitical zones.

Recall that the Senate passed the bill into law on July 15 amid controversies on section 52 of the Bill.

Particularly the amended clause 52(3) which requires confirmation of the Nigeria Communications Commission on the adequacy of network to determine electronic voting was a subject controversy in the upper and lower legislative Chambers.