FIFA went against its rules by allowing Qatar dress Messi in black robe – Ramon Vega


FIFA went against its rules by allowing Qatar to dress Argentina’s Lionel Messi in a black Arab robe before the World Cup trophy presentation, as pointed out by former Tottenham Hotspur defender, Ramon Vega, on Twitter.

Following Argentina’s 4-2 penalty win over France in the World Cup final on Sunday, Messi took the centre stage as he prepared to lift the trophy.

Before the crowning moment, the Paris Saint-Germain forward was greeted by FIFA president, Gianni Infantino and the Emir of Qatar Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, who dressed him in a traditional Arab attire known as bisht.

The traditional garment signifies honour and prestige and is particularly worn at major occasions such as weddings and other events.

In a tweet via his Twitter handle on Monday, Vega drew attention to a section of FIFA’s rulebook, which stated that ‘celebratory attire’ may only be worn after some formalities had been carried out.

Rule 27.2 stated: “In FIFA final competitions, celebratory attire may only be worn on the field of play after the following official FIFA activities have taken place (during which the team must wear the shirts they wore during the match in question).

“[These include:] the trophy presentation, official FIFA photographs and official media appearances.”

Vega then accompanied his image of the rulebook with a series of questioning emojis, clearly confused as to why the World football governing body had allowed Qatar to carry out the ritual.

Meanwhile, a Qatar official, Hassan Al Thawadi, had already explained why Messi was made to wear a bisht.